Close this search box.

eSkootr Championship opener set for Printworks, rider line up announced

Share this article

The eSkootr Championship has confirmed Printworks in London as the venue for its 2022 season opener, while also announcing its rider line-up.

Among the riders selected to compete are multiple world champion and former Team GB speed skater, Elise Christie, BMX World Championship bronze medalist, Tre Whyte, and Olympic Games Snowboard bronze medalist, Billy Morgan.  

Plans for the inaugural round of the brand-new eSkootr Championship were revealed at a launch event held on Tuesday at The Shard.

Located in south London, Printworks will be adapted to include a 600-metre specially-designed track that will weave its way in and out of the venue.

The full rider line-up consists of 30 athletes that will race at speeds of over 100km/h on the S1-X eSkootr for the first time next month.

The riders will now be selected by the 10 teams entered in the championship through a draft format.

Coverage of the micromobility racing series will be available to view via the eSC network of broadcast partners in over 100 territories worldwide.

“We are delighted to announce that the iconic South East London venue, Printworks London, will host the first-ever eSkootr Championship race in just six weeks’ time,” said Hrag Sarkissian, eSkootr Championship Co-founder and CEO.

“This venue will enable us to bring the world’s first micromobility sport to the heart of urban London, emphasising eSC’s commitment to reimagining the racing experience for the fans, and at the same time developing the conversation around safer, sustainable and more liveable cities.

“Today we can also announce the 30 riders from around the world who will be competing in the inaugural Championship. The riders have come from a range of sports, including multiple World Champion and Olympic speed skater, Elise Christie and Olympic snowboarder Billy Morgan, monster truck racer, Ami Houde, and BMX rider Tre Whyte. 

“Our final rider pool have been through intensive testing and training and beat over 500 other elite athletes to be selected for season one. We’re proud of the work they have put in and incredibly excited to see them compete on the track in May, and throughout the year.”

Full list of riders for the 2022 season:

Aaron Guardado, USA

Alexis Letellier, France

Ami Houde, USA

Anish Shetty, India

Antoine Magalhaes, France

Antonin Bernard, France

Aymard Vernay, France    

Billy Morgan, UK

Chelsea Gowland, UK

Dakota Schuetz, USA

Daniel Brooks, UK    

Danny Skinner, UK

Elise Christie, UK

Jamiel Guerchadi, Switzerland

Javi Espinosa, Spain

Jordan Rand, USA

Kilian Larhar, France

Lena Kemmer, Austria

Marc Luna, Spain    

Maria Bellot Bernabe, Spain

Maria Paula Mapis, Colombia

Matis Neyroud, Switzerland

Nancy van de Ven, Netherlands

Nicci Daly, Ireland

Roberta Ponziani, Italy

Roomet Saalik, Estonia

Sarah Cabrini, Italy

Sara Sanchez Tamayo, Spain

Tre Whyte, UK

Wilfred Njuguna, UK

Share this article

Photography by

Most read